Tags

, , ,

Once the days start getting shorter and you begin pairing boots with every outfit, it’s time to bust out those hearty foods. Goodbye bathing suit-season salads, hello winter pudge-covering sweaters and apple pie!

I’m a sucker for traditional fall dishes—chilies, pot roasts, casseroles, creamy soups. And because I’m human and happen to have the appetite of a bear just out of hibernation, I’ve been slacking on my plantstrong diet and eating some of these treats. Sorry I’m not sorry. I can’t not fully experience my favorite season!

vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

So this happened. Repeatedly.

But I’ve been trying to make an effort to find good, vegan fall recipes that fill my belly and satisfy my longing for a good bowl of stew. Which, honestly, is really easy. Fall is apparently super vegan-friendly. After all, root vegetables are delicious—and in season! Here are some things I’ve been noshing on:

  • Stuffed acorn squashFor some reason, acorn squash always intimidated me. Maybe it’s the alien pumpkin look? But this year, acorn squash is my jam. The recipe is super easy to make, looks impressive, and leaves me with tons of leftovers.
vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

Who knew eating #plantstrong could be so enjoyable

  • Tomato lentil curry soupAnything with Indian spices wins over my stomach. And the potatoes, pasta, and lentils make this hearty enough to woo even the pickiest husband.
vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

Hubs couldn’t resist my smoked bacon and shrimp corn chowder though. And I had to taste it to make sure I wasn’t poisoning him.

  • Falafel burgersOk, so this one can be considered a year-round recipe, but I have made it a few times this fall, so I say it counts. The burgers are easy to make and don’t even technically need to be cooked, which frees up your oven for all those cookies and pies you’re not making.
vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

Top them with some tahini spread and you can call yourself a healthy Rachel Ray

  • Pumpkin friesSay whaaaa? Pumpkins do more than produce seeds and pies and lopsided faces? My friend made these earlier in the season, and they were really good. Sweet potatoes need to move on over, there’s a new fry in town.
vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

Squint your eyes and picture this Sugarpie pumpkin (tastiest to eat) as fries. That’s the fate it faces tonight.

  • Pumpkin cookiesAnd here’s my favorite fall dessert. Not vegan, but worth every morsel. My grad school friend introduced me to them, and I’ve been a huge fan ever since. They’re bready and fluffy and healthy. Kind of.
vegan fall recipes, plantstrong, fall foods, pumpkin, acorn squash

The plate says it all

What fall recipes do you love?